Sean Twomey, Author at Posmay Media

All Posts by Sean Twomey

8 Key Business Growth Metrics To Track

To grow your business, you need to know your numbers! 

At times it’s easy to focus on vanity metrics. These are those numbers that look impressive and appealing, but don’t directly contribute to the revenue, profit, growth and efficiency of your business.

In this short list I will share with you 8 key metrics to focus on and I’ll compare them to similar metrics that are less important.

1. Profit vs Revenue

Revenue is the more appealing figure to quote when discussing the financial performance of your business. The truth is that there are companies that generate massive amounts of revenue, but they fail to make a profit. 

  • Profit = Revenue - Expenses
  • Profit Margin % = Total Profit / Total Revenue

Focus on measuring and increasing the total profit and profit margin percentage to grow your business.

You can do this by increasing revenue while keeping expenses constant or decreasing expenses while keeping revenue constant, or both.

2. Paying Customers vs Likes or Followers

The most quoted vanity metric in online marketing is likes, followers and fans. These figures paint a picture of how well your brand is performing online, but they don’t directly generate income. Paying customers, on the other hand, generate the revenue and profit. 

Focus on sales to increase your amount of paying customers, as well as your customer retention rate. Increasing these will increase your revenue and profit, and ultimately help you grow your business.

3. Engaged Subscribers vs Subscribers

When it comes to email marketing, having a smaller engaged list of subscribers is more valuable than having a massive list of disengaged (or cold) subscribers. More engaged subscribers will open your emails, click your links and buy your products and services. 

Keep track of and improve your engagement metrics (email open rates and click-through rates), and regularly purge your list by removing cold subscribers.

4. Opt Ins/Leads vs Traffic

Traffic is the lifeblood of online marketing success. We all need traffic to our web properties in order to get our message in front of our target audience, however what’s more interesting is the opt in rate. In other words, the total number and percentage of users that opt into your list (sign up for a free lead magnet or add themselves to your notification list) and become a lead. 

Focus on providing valuable content to increase your opt in rate. Your main goal is increasing the number of leads that join your email list and enter your marketing funnel.

5. Champion Customers vs Ordinary Customers

As mentioned above, it’s crucial to focus on the total number of paying customers your business serves. You can however take this one step further and focus on those extraordinary customers that:

1. Rave about and recommend your business to family and friends — i.e. Brand Ambassadors
2. Make up a large portion of your revenue — i.e. High Value Customers
3. Send you high value referrals — i.e. Affiliate Partners or Strategic Partners

Figure out how you can convert more ordinary customers into champion customers and make sure to communicate your appreciation to your existing champion customers.

6. Recurring Purchases vs Once-Off Purchases

While focusing on attracting new customers, don’t neglect and underestimate the potential value of your existing customers. Instead of focusing on once-off deals, shift your attention to creating more value that you can sell as a recurring purchase or an additional purchase. 

On average it costs less to sell more to an existing customer than to acquire a new customer. And recurring purchases, like subscriptions, increase your monthly recurring revenue (MRR), which is more predictable and lead to more business growth. 

Consider offering your customers a subscription or membership or a monthly, quarterly or annual payment plan in exchange for an ongoing product or service package that adds value.

7. Engagement vs Views

When it comes to online content the most appealing metric is usually subscribers and views. What’s more interesting is looking at user engagement. How many viewers or readers are taking the next step and engaging with your content — for example leaving a comment or asking a question?

Encourage engagement and interaction to gather feedback from your audience. This will help you better understand your audiences' challenges, so you can refine your products and services to better meet their needs and market to them using the language that resonates with them.

8. Testimonials vs Compliments

It’s easy for friends, family members and even customers to compliment your business. What’s far more interesting is focusing on individual customer success stories, case studies and testimonials.  

Source and document customer testimonials, case studies and success stories and use them as part of your marketing material.

Document how a specific customer has benefited from using your service and/or product and how your business has helped them experience a transformation. Written testimonials are great, but video testimonials can be even more effective. 

Bonus Metric: Customer Lifetime Value

Customer Lifetime Value (CLV, CLTV, LCV or LTV) is a prediction of the net profit attributed to the entire future relationship with a customer. 

CLV = (Ave. Monthly Revenue per Customer * Gross Margin per Customer) ÷ Monthly Churn Rate
For example: ($100 average monthly spend * 25% margin) ÷ 5% monthly customer churn = $500 CLV

Calculating your estimated CLV will help decide how much you can afford to spend on acquiring a new customer. 

For example: If your CLV is $500, then you can spend up to $499 to acquire a new customer, while still making $1 in profit. If your CLV is $5000, then you can spend a lot more to acquire a new customer.

In Summary

1. Track your revenue and profit and maximise your profit margin.
2. Focus on sales to increase paying customers.
3. Track and increase your email engagement, as engaged customers are customers that purchase.
4. Track and increase your opt ins to get more leads into your marketing funnel.
5. Convert more ordinary customers into loyal champion customers and brand ambassadors.
6. If possible, increase recurring revenue by offering a subscription or payment plan.
7. Increase your user engagement to learn more about your audience.
8. Capture testimonials, success stories and case studies and use them in your marketing material.
9. Track and increase customer lifetime value.

I hope you found this list useful. If you have any feedback or questions, feel free to leave a comment below or contact me via our contact page.

15 ConvertKit Email Marketing Tips

In this post I’ll be sharing 15 of my best recommendations. These are tips, tricks, best practices and strategies that you can apply to your email marketing using ConvertKit. So let’s get started.

New to ConvertKit?

Sign up for your forever free ConvertKit account to manage up to 1000 subscribers, get unlimited landing pages, email broadcasts and subscriber tagging.

Get everything you need to get started on the right foot to implementing an effective email marketing strategy.

1. Remember that your subscribers are people just like you and me

Whether you send them down a funnel of opt ins and thank you pages, with up sells or whether you send them a broadcast email. Always remember that you are speaking with a person with dreams, hopes and challenges. Write to them accordingly.

2. Respect Your Subscribers

Always remember that by reading any one of your emails your subscriber is taking time to pay attention to what you have to say. Respect that commitment and share value — help them solve their challenge. Also always give them an option to opt out of your sequence or unsubscribe from your list.

3. Make Use of the Resend to Un-Opens Feature

ConvertKit has a very powerful feature which is really easy to use. The “Resend To Un-Opens” function, let’s you resend an email broadcast to those subscribers that have not opened your email. When using this, I strongly recommend making some slight changes to the subject and the body of the email. Avoid sending out the exact same email.

You can find the "Resend to unopens" option on the report page of a Broadcast that's been sent.

4. Track Your Numbers

ConvertKit provides a bunch of metrics that we can use to better understand how our emails are performing. 

  • Email Broadcasts:  Recipients, Open Rate, Click Rate, Clicks & Unsubscribes 
  • Sequences: Subscribers, Open Rate, Click Rate & Unsubscribes 
  • Forms: Visitors, Subscribers & Conversions
  • Track these numbers. They will give you the insight to understand what’s working and what isn’t working. What’s resonating with your subscribers and what they don’t care much about.

    You can stats for your email broadcasts on the All Broadcasts page.

    5. Get To Know Your Subscribers Using Tags

    Every time we send our subscribers an email we have an opportunity to learn something about them and tag them accordingly. But the thing is, we need to build this into our emails.

    Whenever you include a link in an email, make sure to tag the user if they click this link. Don’t overdo this, but tags are there to add additional information about each one of your subscribers. 

    Make use of tags to better understand each subscriber.

    You can view and edit your tags on the right sidebar on your Subscribers page.

    6. Use A Descriptive Tag Naming Scheme

    When setting up your tags in your account use some naming convention that makes sense and document the process so you can share it with your team or with whoever needs to understand it.

    You might use LM: Descriptive Name, Purchased: Name of Product, AS: Name of Sequence, etc. 

    Just keep it standard and keep a record of these names in your own internal documentation.

    7. Use Trigger Links To Save Time & Avoid Errors

    When including a link in an email you can either set this up in the email or you can create a trigger link as a Rule under Automations. If you’ll be using this same exact link and associated tag in multiple emails, then set this up as a Trigger Link under Rules. 

    It will save you time in applying this inside of emails and you’ll avoid making mistakes. Also if the link changes, you’ll be able to change it in one location and it will automatically update in all emails where you’ve made use of that specific trigger link. 

    8. Use Sequences & Automations

    What makes ConvertKit so powerful is sequences and automations. 

    In ConvertKit you can setup sequences and automations that will run based on events and triggers. This might be a simple onboarding sequence that you send to subscribers after they’ve signed up or it may be a more complex automation of a purchase funnel.

    9. Broadcasts vs Sequences

    Broadcasts are time specific and sequences are event specific. If you need to send an email at a specific time, send it or schedule it as a broadcast. 

    If the email needs to be sent out after a specific event has happened (for example an opt in, or a purchase), then set it up as a sequence.

    I often see people get confused with these two. Understand them and use them accordingly.

    10. Exclude Subscribers From Irrelevant Emails

    Make sure to exclude subscribers from broadcasts and sequences that are irrelevant to them. The best example is sending a buyer the remaining emails that are inside a sales sequence. As soon as someone becomes a buyer, they should no longer receive emails promoting the product they’ve purchased. 

    You do this by always tagging a subscriber when they make a purchase. This will depend on what system you are using. I’ve used this with SendOwl and WishList Member and it will work with all the other eCommerce integrations that ConvertKit offers.

    Assuming you tag buyers with a purchase tag. Then when setting up a Sequence, you can add that tag to the Exclusions field. That means that any subscriber that is tagged with that tag, won’t receive future emails in that sequence.

    It’s simple enough, but unless it’s setup and configured, buyers might still be getting sales emails, which is what you want to avoid.

    You can exclude subscribers that have been tagged with a specific tag when compiling a new broadcast.

    11. Automations Are Powerful 

    I’ve setup an email course in ConvertKit for a client that takes into account engagement. When a subscriber opts in for the email course, they immediately receive lesson 1, but what happens next depends on their engagement. 

    A: if the user clicks the link in the lesson 1, then they will receive the next lesson 24 hrs later.
    B: if the user does not click the link, then they will only receive the next lesson 72 hrs later.

    The idea is to reward a user for engagement by sending them the next lesson sooner.

    12. Make Use of ConvertKit Integrations

    I’ve used ConvertKit with many other apps including Thrive Leads, SendOwl, WishList Member, and Gravity Forms to just name a few. There are loads of integrations and what you will want to integrate with, will depend on your specific setup. 

    Just keep in mind that the functionality of ConvertKit can be expanded tremendously using integrations.

    13. Cleaning Your List

    Our main aim is obviosuly to build a list, but we want a quality list. A quality list has a high level of engagement, so high open rates and click rates. We don’t want subscribers that have gone cold on us. So, there is a simple way of deleting these subscribers to increase the quality of your list.

    ConvertKit has a page explaining this process, which is fairly straightforward.

    1. Select all your cold subscribers
    2. Tag all your cold subscribers with something like “Cold Subscribers”
    3. Create an automation rule — link to a page that says “Thank You, You’re Still On The List”, and when a subscriber clicks that link, the “Cold Subscribers” tag is removed.
    4. Send A Breakup Email
    5. Re-Send The Email using the “Send to Un-Opens” function
    6. Wait 7 - 14 days
    7. Delete everyone that’s still tagged as a “Cold Subscriber” — these are the people that did not click the link in the email to remain on your list.

    14. Use Segments To Group Subscribers

    Make sure to use the segments feature to group subscribers. This can be very useful when it comes to including or excluding subscribers from future email broadcasts or sequences. 

    Using Segments is a great way of better organizing your subscribers into groups or buckets and it will definitely save you time and avoid any errors.

    You can for example create a segment of subscribers that have been tagged with multiple tags.

    15. Important Things To Remember & Consider…

    … when setting up sequences and automations.

  • A subscriber can online go through a sequence once
  • A subscriber cannot go backwards in an automation or a sequence
  • All automations come to an end, but you can create a loop
  • Subscribers can’t be in multiple branches of an automation
  • Subscribers can be in multiple workflows/automations
  • Keep those in mind when planning and developing your sequences and automations inside of ConvertKit, because I know from my experience that it can get complicated and confusing.

    Bonus Tip

    Keep it simple and build things up over time and enjoy the power and simplicity that ConvertKit offers you. Wishing you all the best for using ConvertKit to manage your email marketing. 

    I am always working on improving and expanding my content so that it provides the most value. Let me know if you found this useful and if you have any other questions — I’m happy to answer.

    New to ConvertKit?

    Sign up for your forever free ConvertKit account to manage up to 1000 subscribers, get unlimited landing pages, email broadcasts and subscriber tagging.

    Get everything you need to get started on the right foot to implementing an effective email marketing strategy.

    10 Proven Online Business Models with Real World Examples

    In this post I'll explain the 10 proven business models that will let you create and grow a successful online business that generates online income. 

    One of the most common mistakes new entrepreneurs make is they jump into a business idea and start executing without understanding and clearly defining their business model. 

    Make sure to understand the different business models and focus on the one that best aligns with your skillset, experience, goals and aspirations. 

    Let me know if you have any questions in the comments below.

    1. Selling digital services — freelancing or creating an agency

    This option entails providing digital services to a client in exchange for a set project fee, an hourly rate or a recurring monthly retainer.

    Example: MashMetrics is an agency that offers Web Analytics services — mashmetrics.com

    Becoming a freelance digital service provider has the lowest barriers to entry with the highest short term earning potential. If you have marketable skills that others are willing to hire you for, then you can in a short space of time find a handful of projects or clients and generate an online income. 

    The rate that you will be able to charge depends on your ability, your experience and your past success stories. What can you offer a potential client, what can you help them achieve or achieve on their behalf and what success stories do you have under your belt that will convince clients that you are the right service provider to work with.

    Example: UpWork is a market place that matches freelancers with rewarding projects — UpWork.com

    Any area of expertise that can be delivered digitally and worked on remotely can be sold as a digital service. These can include, but are not limited to:

    • Web Development
    • Copywriting
    • Graphic Design
    • Video Editing
    • Social Media Management
    • Paid Media Management
    • Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
    • Customer Support
    • Conversion Optimization
    • Lead Generation
    • etc.

    It’s fairly easy to start freelancing, but as a freelancer your income is capped by the total number of hours you can work per month or by the number of clients that you can service at any given moment. Also keep in mind that your income potential and potential for being hired is directly proportionate with your skill level, your experience and how competitive the market is for what you are offering. 

    If your goal is to earn more and take on more clients than you can handle yourself, then you will need to start hiring contractors and/or employees to build a team. By expanding your freelance business will grow into an agency. Building a digital agency comes with it’s own set of challenges and opportunities, and can be very lucrative in the long run if done correctly.

    You can find many freelancers on UpWork and Fiverr. And here is a list of top 100 agencies.

    2. Selling digital consulting, coaching or training services

    This option entails providing strategic advice and support to an individual or a company via online video calls or sessions.

    Example: Willo Sana offers coaching services — WilloLovesYou.com

    If you have the knowledge and experience in a given area and you are willing to share your expertise and guidance with your clients, then this is a viable option. With this model you are not doing the work on behalf of your client, but you are merely accompanying and guiding them along their journey. 

    As a coach or consultant you can offer one-on-one, group or team sessions. If needed and when possible you can offer in person sessions, but sessions can also be conducted online via platforms like Skype or Zoom.

    Here are some examples of coaches and consultants based on their expertise:

    • Life Coaching
    • Business Coaching
    • Career Coaching
    • Fitness Coaching
    • Musical Instrument or Voice Coaching
    • Psychotherapy
    • Corporate Consulting
    • Financial Consulting
    • Legal Consulting
    • Language Teachers or Tutors

    Here are 3 examples of life and business coaches: Willo Loves You, Charlie King Coaching, & Million Dollar Coach. And here is an example of an online language tutoring platform: iTalki

    3. Selling physical products online — eCommerce

    This model entails creating your own physical product and/or selling someone else's product in exchange for a margin or a sales commission. 

    Creating a new product from scratch is generally speaking no minor undertaking. You’ll need to start with an idea, come with the design, manufacture a prototype, conduct extensive product testing, and market the product well enough to generate sales. Even though manufacturing has become a lot more accessible, it still has major risks and requires a fair amount of start up capital. 

    Having said that it also depends on your specific product. Creating and selling custom designed and hand made face masks or swim wear is less complicated compared to designing, manufacturing and selling electric skateboards or a DIY hydroponics system. 

    If you do manage to design, manufacture, distribute and sell a new or improved physical product profitably, then you are in a position to build a bigger brand and product portfolio. You’ll also have a competitive edge over your competition, assuming the product you sell is unique and cannot easily be copied. 

    Here are three great examples of products that are being successfully sold online: The Roost StandSwitch Pod,  and Minaal.

    Example: The Roost Laptop Stand — therooststand.com

    Besides creating a brand new product, another option would be to sell an existing product either via your own online store or via a larger online retailer like Amazon, using their FBA (Fulfilled by Amazon) program. If you do not hold your own stock and you outsource the fulfilment of your orders, then this model is referred to as drop shipping.

    Here are examples of the top 500 Shopify stores: and here are some of the top Etsy stores.

    4. Selling digital products

    This option entails creating, marketing and selling a digital product online. Digital products can include books, audio books, games, online courses, templates, sheet music, musical recordings, recipes, building plans, checklists, or software to name a few.

    The benefit of selling digital products is that distribution has become a lot easier to scale and once the initial production is complete, you can sell unlimited copies of your product. 

    Once you’ve coded a game, written a book, recorded a song or finished filming and editing the lessons of your online course, you package the product once and can keep selling copies of it for years to come. By keeping overhead and recurring costs low, it’s possible to generate high margins when selling digital products.

    Example: Data Driven U sells online courses, as well as a monthly or annual membership — datadrivenu.com

    One major downside of the digital product business model is that digital products can easily be copied and pirated, but don’t let that hold you back.

    One other thing to keep in mind is that creating the digital product is only part of the challenge. A major part is finding product market fit (i.e. creating a product that people want and are willing to purchase) and getting your product in front of the right audience.

    The right audience can either be an audience that you have built up over time or you can rent the attention of an audience by running ads.

    Here are some examples of websites selling digital products:

    5. Affiliate Marketing

    This model entails promoting someone else's product or service in exchange for a % commission for each sale that you generate.

    Instead of spending their marketing budget on running ads and promotions, some companies offer an affiliate program where they will let anybody willing to promote their product sign up as an affiliate. After being accepted into the program, the affiliate will get their own unique affiliate link which they use when linking to the product online. 

    Any sales that are generated via that affiliate link will then get credited to the affiliate’s account and the company will pay the affiliate the agreed upon commission on the agreed upon payment schedule. The commission is paid out by the company selling the product at no additional expense to the customer making the purchase.

    Affiliate marketing has a low barrier to entry, but generating enough traffic and sales to earn significant commissions takes time and effort and is something that most affiliates never achieve.

    Most affiliate commissions are once off commissions, but some companies do offer recurring commissions for the lifetime of a customer that the affiliate referred. Recurring commissions are great for affiliates, as they will continue getting paid every month as long as the customer remains a customer.

    Affiliate income can be a great stream of passive income, but it’s important to understand that you won’t generate any sales without putting in the work that is needed to build an audience and generate the traffic to the specific offer that you are trying to sell.

    Example: Amazon Associates Program — affiliate-program.amazon.com

    There are many different ways of driving traffic to your affiliate links. Many YouTubers add affiliate links to the description of their videos recommending their preferred gear. Other affiliate marketers will add their affiliate links to review videos and blog posts. Travel bloggers might recommend specific listings on a booking site by linking out via their affiliate links. 

    Here are some real world examples of well known affiliate programs:

    And here are examples of some real world affiliate marketers:

    Example: Smart Passive Income — smartpassiveincome.com

    6. Advertising & Sponsorships / Influencer Marketing

    This model entails building an audience and then selling their attention to advertisers. 

    The most most common examples of this model would be YouTubers, authority or news site owners, Social Media Influences (Instagram, TikTok, etc.), and podcast hosts.

    A YouTuber will regularly publish videos to build grow their audience on the platform. As they increase their subscriber count, their views, and their engagement, so their channel will become more valuable in terms of displaying ads. In order to monetize their account (i.e. activate ads on their account) a YouTube account needs at least 1000 subscribers and have at least 4,000 hours of watch time within the past 12 months.

    An authority or news site owner will create a website that focused on a very specific niche and contains valuable content about that niche. They will create content that ranks in search results and will therefore attract readers (i.e. traffic). They can then sign up with an ad network (for example Google AdSense) to place ads on the pages and blog posts on their site. Ad networks will either pay out CPM (cost per thousand impressions) or CPP (cost per click). In order to generate significant ad revenue a website will need a significant amount of traffic. Some authority sites will also charge advertisers for a sponsored post on their website.

    A social influencer will spend their time regularly publishing new content to grow their following on the most popular social media channels including Instagram and TikTok. As their subscriber count and view count grows, so they will have more and more attention to sell to advertisers and so the cost of placing ads on their accounts will increase. Social influencers can charge per sponsored post or can sign endorsement deals in which they feature and promote a brand on their channels.

    A podcast host will grow their audience and subscribers by regularly publishing new podcast episodes. As soon as their channel is large enough they can sign start incorporating ads or promotions as part of their episodes. If you become popular enough you could even license your podcast to Spotify for a sweet $100m — yip, I’m looking at you Joe Rogan.

    Example: Armchair Expert Podcast — armchairexpertpod.com

    With any of these examples, keep it mind that it takes consistent effort and determination and it can take a considerable amount of time to grow a channel to a significant size to make advertising a viable option. 

    Here is a list of top social media influencers by industry and here is a list of top YouTubers in 2020

    Podcast Examples: The Joe Rogan ExperienceArmchair Expert & The Tropical MBA Podcast.

    Authority/News Site Example: Mashable

    7. Membership Sites, Events & Exclusive Communities

    This model entails creating and selling access to a private membership and/or creating and selling tickets to in-person events, retreats and conferences.

    Running a successful membership site can be a great source of recurring revenue, assuming that you can convince your members to keep paying their monthly membership. 

    Membership sites generally provide exclusive access to premium resources and can also include an online or in-person community that gives members the opportunity to expand their network by meeting like-minded individuals.

    Example: The Dynamite Circle — tropicalmba.com/join-the-dynamite-circle

    Events can be run virtually or in-person and can provide the attendees with a specific experience which might include an educational element, like training, presentations or workshops. Formats can include conferences, retreats and masterminds. Creating a monthly, quarterly or annual event can help solidify the experience as a recurring one in the minds of attendees. And it also lets you pre-sell tickets for upcoming events.

    The Dynamite Circle is an example of an online community membership site that brings together business owners and location independent entrepreneurs.

    DCBKK is the exclusive annual conference that is hosted by the Dynamite Circle, which is only available to DC Members. 

    And Lineage of Light is an example of online training and in-person educational retreats in an area of Ancient Wisdom Sciences, Core Cellular Healing & Ke Ala. 

    8. Software as a Service (SaaS)

    This model entails creating and selling access to a software application that provides  a valuable solution to a common and recurring problem. 

    The SaaS model is great for regenerating recurring revenue, assuming you can build up a loyal user base and customers that keep paying the monthly or annual renewal fee.

    Developing a new piece of software is a challenging under taking, as you will need a to create a solution that users are willing to pay for on a recurring basis. You also need to either build it yourself or hire developers. You will most likely also need to keep improving your product in order to keep users from switching to a competitor.  The development, marketing, maintenance and customer support will need to be financed and managed. 

    Example: Dropbox Business — dropbox.com

    There are higher barriers to entry when it comes to developing software, but if you can create a valuable solution that is delivered in an efficient and enjoyable user experience, then you can create a business that can be scaled almost indefinitely. And because it’s a digital product, your team can work remotely and digitally.

    Here are some real-world example of successful SaaS products:

    9. Brokerage — Online Market Places

    This model entails bringing together buyers and seller to facilitate some form of transaction. This could involve facilitating the sale of an online business, a website or a service. 

    Example: AppSumo — appsumo.com

    Here are some real world example of online brokers and/or market places:

    • UpWork — A marketplace for freelancers selling their services and those looking to hire
    • Dynamite Jobs — A remote job board bringing together those hiring and those looking for work
    • AppSumo — Featuring and selling discounted online products and services from 3rd parties
    • Empire Flippers — Facilitating the sale of websites

    10. Or of course, a combination of the above.

    Last but not least it is common for a business to use a more than one of the above business models. For example a brand selling online courses or books, might also offer done for you services. Or a YouTuber might include affiliate links in their video descriptions, but also monetises their channel with advertising. 

    Using more than one of the above models can work well, but trying to implement more than two or three will probably result in a dilution of your efforts. A strong recommendation would be to have a clear focus and stick with what works best for you. You can always expand at a later stage. 

    Thanks for taking the time to read this post. If you have any questions feel free to leave a comment or contact me here

    10 Website Optimisation Tips To Increase ROI

    Answer the following questions and implement the recommended actions to increase the effectiveness of your website in terms of getting more traffic, leads and sales. Download this post as a PDF checklist.

    1. Concise, Descriptive & Not Overwhelming

    Is your site concise and descriptive? Does it provide the visitor with the information that they are looking for or is it cluttered and overwhelming?

    • Invest in quality copywriting and site design to provide your visitors with a valuable and enjoyable experience. Write concisely and make use of images, icons and graphics.

    2. Clear Call To Action

    Does your home page and your other pages and posts provide a clear call to action? Do you tell the visitor what you want them to do next? Do you want them to phone, fill in a form, watch a video, or download a PDF?

    • Include a clear CTA (call to action) on each page and post.

    3. Valuable Content

    Does your site contain valuable content? Does the content on your site answer provide content that the visitor will find useful and interesting? Does your content answer frequently asked questions?

    • Review, refine and create valuable content for your visitors. Make sure to answer frequently asked questions and provide content that addresses their pain point and makes them see you as the authority in your niche.

    4. Social Proof

    Does your site display social proof? These could be written or video testimonials, case studies or social media comments. Social proof plays a huge part in encouraging potential customers to purchase your products and services.

    • Capture and showcase authentic testimonials, case studies and success stories on your website … showcasing existing customers and how your brand, product and/or service has help them realise their desired outcome. You can also embed screenshots of social media posts on your site or in your email campaigns.

    5. Lead Generation

    Does your site offer a visitor the opportunity to opt in and become a lead?

    • Include opt in offers on your website that lets your visitors request some sort of free opt in gift (lead magnet) that they receive when they sign up for your list. This could be a free chapter of your book, a PDF resource guide, a discount coupon or free assessment call.

    6. Optimised For Mobile Screens

    Does your website show correctly on mobile devices? Web developers call this “Responsive Design”, which means that your website automatically adapts itself to the size of the screen it is being viewed on. 

    • Test and update your site so that it looks great and functions correctly on all mobile devices. You might not expect this, but an ever increasing percentage of traffic is coming from mobile devices and you want your visitors to have an enjoyable experience when viewing your site on their phone or tablet.

    7. Search Engine Visibility

    Is your site visible on on search engines? A quick way to test this is to search Google for “site:yourdomain.com” and see what comes up. This will list all pages that are indexed by Google.

    • Test and update your site so that it’s showing up on search engine result pages (SERPs).

    8. Current & Updated

    Is your website content up to date? This might seem like a stupid question to ask, but there are so many websites online that provide outdated information, which makes the site look irrelevant and negatively effects your search rankings.

    • Review and update your content regularly and publish new content on a regular basis.

    9. Load Time

    Is your site taking too long to load? Slow loading sites causes visitors to leave and decreases your search rankings. You can test your site’s load speed here: https://tools.pingdom.com/
    Try keep your page size as small as possible (ideally below 1 or 1.5MB).

    • Test your page load time and optimise your site to load faster, by reducing the size of your pages.

    10. Automated Email Sequences

    Do your email opt ins trigger automated follow up email sequences? When someone signs up for your opt-in gift (lead magnet), you want to make sure to setup an automated follow up sequence. To set this up, I strongly recommend using ConvertKit or with Drip.

    • Setup email nurture and sales sequences to automatically follow up with your leads (email subscribers) after they’ve joined your list.

    Download this post as a PDF checklist

    10 Website Optimisation Tips To Increase ROI
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    Understanding Google’s SERP – Search Engine Results Page

    When talking about improving your site’s SEO (Search Engine Optimization) or visibility on Google, it’s important to understand the anatomy of Google’s SERP (Search Engine Results Page).

    Google SERP

    Google’s results pages are changing all the time. Depending on where you are searching from and what you are searching for you may see a combination of different results being displayed as snippets, lists, panels, carousels and maps.

    In this post, using the screenshot below, I’d like to explain three of the more common types of results.

    1. AdWords Results

    Google AdWords or PPC (Pay Per Click) results may show up at the top of the page and/or in the right hand column. AdWords results are sponsored links and are labeled with a small yellow “Ad” or “Ads” tag.

    In order to have your site listed as part of these results you will need to run an AdWords campaign, which involves bidding on your targeted keywords. When a user clicks on your link you will be charged the allocated cost per click (CPC) amount based on the bidding process for that specific keyword.

    2. Local Search Results

    Local search results will usually show up if your search phrase includes a place (city, town, neighbourhood, etc.). These results may also be displayed on a map and are based on Google Places listings. To show up and rank in these results you need to make sure that you have claimed and optimised your Google Places listing for your business.

    3. Organic Search Results

    The organic results usually show up right below the AdWords results, but can also show up below the Local Search Results. These results are ranked and displayed using Google’s ever-changing ranking algorithm. Ranking well in organic results is based on a selection of criteria including on-page and off-page ranking factors including the setup and structure of your website, the qualtiy of your content,  the quantity and quality of inbound links as well as your brands’ social presence.

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    Do you have any questions about improving your SEO and your online visibility?
    Email us » info@posmaymedia.com.

    Best Online Video Hosting Platforms

    This post will help you decide which video hosting platform to use to upload and share your videos online. Note: Read through this entire post before making your decision.

    Understand Your Requirements

    Choosing which platform and service to use depends on the following factors:

    1. Your Budget — how much you are willing to spend?
    2. Amount of Videos — how many videos do you need to host?
    3. Required Features — what features are you looking for?
    4. Private vs Public — will your videos be published publicly or privately

    YouTube — FREE

    YouTube is free and works well. It’s the largest online video sharing and hosting platform. It’s a great place for publishing content if your goal is increasing your visibility online — getting more views and building an audience.

    The network is owned by Google and is therefore the largest online video search engine. YouTube videos show up in Google search results and thousands of users are constantly searching for and viewing new content on the platform.

    You can publish your videos as:

    • Public — the video can be viewed by anybody and is displayed publicly on the network
    • Unlisted — the video can be viewed by anybody that has the unique video link
    • Private — the video can only be viewed by you or a Google user that you’ve privately shared the video with.

    You can embed YouTube videos on pages of your own or other websites or you can send users a direct link to your video’s page on YouTube.

    Keep in mind that YouTube is owned by Google and Google’s business model is to collect data in order to sell ads. Your video will however only display ads if you enable monetisation for that specific video. Google’s main goal is to keep users on YouTube to maximise viewing time and ad exposure.

    Publish to YouTube if…

    1. You don’t mind your videos being publicly available
    2. If you are looking to gain views and additional exposure
    3. If you don’t have a budget to spend on a video hosting solution

    Wistia — From $99 per month

    Wistia is a great platform and offers a free plan for up to 3 videos. Wistia specialised in business video hosting and is well know for it’s advanced analytics features. They offer in depth analytics that let you see how many people watched the video and how many minutes they watched or at what stage they stopped watching. You can customise Wistia’s video player and embed your videos on your website.

    Publish to Wistia if…

    1. You need to protect your video content and embed videos privately
    2. You are looking for advanced analytics features
    3. You are willing to spend at least $99 per month

    Vimeo Basic — FREE

    Vimeo Basic is similar to YouTube in the way that it’s free and ad supported. The Vimeo platform and community has a smaller audience than YouTube, but still offers a great place to host and showcase your videos.

    Publish to Vimeo Basic if…

    1. You don’t mind your videos being publicly available
    2. If you don’t mind ads being displayed alongside your videos
    3. If you don’t have a budget to spend on a video hosting solution
    4. If you don’t want to use and support YouTube and Google

    Vimeo Plus, Pro, Business & Premium — €6, €16, €40 or €70 per month

    Vimeo’s premium plans are similar to Wistia, but more affordable if you need a larger amount of videos hosted. They also provide analytics, but not as good as Wistia’s.

    Publish to Vimeo Plus, Pro, Business or Premium if…

    1. You need to protect your video content and embed videos privately
    2. You are looking for advanced analytics features
    3. If you have a large amount of videos that you need to host and protect
    4. You are willing to spend at least €6, €16, €40 or €70 per month (paid annually)

    VooPlayer — From $33 per month

    VooPlayer is a lesser known platform, but has been around for a few years. This service specialises in fast and reliable video hosting, while also prioritising the mobile viewing experience.

    VooPlayer is paid for video hosting platform that offers an extensive set of useful features. You can upload your videos, customise your embedded video player and your video’s viewing page. VooPlayer also provides a selection of marketing features to better help you capture leads, add pay gates or encourage social video sharing.

    VooPlayer offers cloud video hosting (on their own servers) or hybrid video hosting, which makes it really simplt to host your videos on your 3rd party cloud account (YouTube, Vimeo, Dropbox, Amazon S3, Google Drive) while embedding your videos using the VooPlayer’s video player.

    Publish to VooPlayer if …

    1. You need to protect your video content and embed videos privately
    2. You’re looking for premium video protection technology to protect your videos online
    3. You are looking for advanced video marketing features and video player customisations
    4. You’d like to use hybrid video hosting
    5. You are willing to spend $33 per month (paid anually)

    Got Questions or Need Help?

    We provide strategic support for video production and offer a video editing service. Contact us today. We're here to help.

    WordPress Security: 10 Tips For Keeping Your Site Secure

    This post I answer the important question ‘How do WordPress websites get hacked?’ and I provide 10 tips on how to keep your WordPress site safe.

    How do WordPress websites get hacked?

    The vast majority of sites being hacked are not hacked by some human siting in a dark room wearing a hoodie. Majority of hacks are automated and are conducted by computer programs (also referred to as bots).

    • 41% get hacked through vulnerabilities in their hosting platform
    • 29% by means of an insecure theme
    • 22% via a vulnerable plugin
    • 8% because of weak passwords

    This concludes that the vast majority of site hacks are being caused by compromised hosting platforms, vulnerable themes, insecure plugins or due to weak passwords.

    Another thing to understand is that hacking into a site by guessing a password is also not done by a human. Most password hacks are called brute force hacks, which means that an automated program (or a bot) identifies your login page and tries logging in with different combinations of username and passwords. A bot can cycle through thousands and millions of combinations within a very short space of time.

    Now that we know what causes most hacks, I'd like to share with you what we can do about preventing these hacks.

    How To Keep Your Site Safe 

    I’ll share 10 recommendations that will help you keep your site safe.

    1. Choose A High-Quality Hosting Provider

    Posmay Media offers Concierge WordPress Hosting Plans that include free WordPress maintenance. We take care of all the technicalities on your behalf, so you can focus on growing your business.

    If you prefer managing your own hosting, then we recommend Dreamhost (if you're just getting started) or WPX Hosting (if you need more advanced hosting).

    2. Perform Regular Backups

    This cannot me understated! Make sure to have a backup strategy in place. There are multiple options for creating reliable and automated backups of your WordPress site. We use and recommend the All-In-One-Migration plugin together with Dropbox cloud storage. 

    Pro Tip: If you'd like someone else to take care your WordPress backups, then consider our Posmay Media's WordPress Managed Hosting plans, which include Minimal WordPress maintenance, which can be upgraded to a more advanced plan if and when needed.

    3. Fortify Your Login

    Strengthen your login by implementing the following steps:

    1. Always use strong passwords for all accounts — https://strongpasswordgenerator.com/
    2. Keep passwords safe — Store them in a secure place, like a password manager app
    3. Avoid using the default admin username for any accounts
    4. Force strong passwords — make it compulsory for all users to use strong passwords
    5. Limit login attempts

    4. Add SALTs To wp-config.php 

    Make sure to add these random strings to your wp-config file to add another layer of protection. Dreamhost's One-Click installer adds unique SALT's automatically. 

    5. Set A Unique Table Prefix

    Make sure to set a unique table prefix to your MySQL database when installing WordPress. Dreamhost's One-Click installer adds a unique table prefix automatically.

    6. Keep WordPress Up To Date

    Conduct regularly WordPress maintenance and keep your WordPress core files updated. Before updating, always create a backup in case something goes wrong.

    7. Use Premium Themes and Plugins

    Always make use of premium themes and plugins that are reliable and maintained. There are endless free themes and plugins available online, but many of them are not updated and can introduce unwanted security risks to your site.

    We use and recommend Thrive Themes, as they have a great toolbox of themes and plugins to help you optimise your site for conversions.

    8. Keep Themes and Plugins Updated

    As part of your regular WordPress maintenance, make sure to keep all your themes and plugins updated.

    If WordPress maintenance is something you'd like to outsource, consider our Managed WordPress Hosting Plans that incl. free minimal WordPress maintenance.

    9. Keep Your Computer Clean

    Keep your computers operating system updated and uninfected. Avoid any software that may compromise your system including Malware and Viruses. 

    10. Stay informed and up to date.

    Keep yourself informed with regards to WordPress developments. At times critical security breaches get announced or a new update needs to be applied. Whoever is in charge of managing your website(s) needs to stay in formed.

    During the account creation process, you’ll have the opportunity to also register your unique domain name (for example yourbusiness.com or yourname.com). 

    Already have a domain name registered that you'd like to use? If yes, then you will need update the domain's DNS settings records for that domain to point to Dreamhost.

    Need Help? Managed WordPress Hosting Plans

    Prefer getting someone else to take care of the technicalities? Posmay Media offers professional WordPress Hosting plans. All plans include free WordPress Maintenance. 

    Our plans have been designed to meet your needs and budget starting from $19 /month.

    How To Create A Self-Hosted WordPress Website in 3 Steps

    Setting up your own self-hosted WordPress website is a simple 3-step process, which will only take a few minutes. The instructions on this page will walk you through the process.

    Important: To complete the above action items you will need your email address and a credit card. Make sure to read all the instructions on this page, before clicking through to any other page. For this tutorial we'll be using Dreamhost as our trusted hosting provider. We've used Dreamhost for over 10 years and highly recommend them.

    Step 1: Set Up Your Hosting Account

    We trust and recommend Dreamhost as a reliable web hosting provider. Their affordable shared hosting plan is ideal for new WordPress users just getting started. They also provide more advanced plans for when your website and audience grows. 

    During the account creation process, you’ll have the opportunity to also register 1 FREE domain name (for example yourbusiness.com). Click the button below to get a $25 discount + 1 FREE Domain name

    Already have a domain name registered that you'd like to use? If yes, then you will need update the domain's DNS settings records for that domain to point to Dreamhost's servers.

    The nameservers for all domains managed by DreamHost are set up using the following:

    1. ns1.dreamhost.com 64.90.62.230
    2. ns2.dreamhost.com 208.97.182.10
    3. ns3.dreamhost.com 66.33.205.230

    Step 2: Add Your Domain To Your Hosted Domains

    In order to install WordPress on your domain, you will first need to add hosting to the domain you'll be using. In order to do this you will need to login to your Dreamhost panel, click through to the 'Manage Domains' page and then click on 'Add Hosting to a Domain'. Fill in the page and click on 'Fully Host This Domain'.

    Your new hosting setup will take a few minutes to configure. You should receive an automatic email from Dreamhost confirming the changes that you have made. 

    The video below walks you through this process.

    Step 3: Install WordPress with the One-Click Installer

    Inside your Dreamhost panel, click through to the 'One-Click Installs' (under Goodies). Next click on 'WordPress', select the domain from the dropdown menu and uncheck the 'Deluxe Installation' option. Click 'Install It For Me Now'. That's it, you've initiated the installation!

    Dreamhost will automatically install WordPress on your domain. Keep an eye on your inbox, as an automatic email will be sent to you as soon as the installation is ready for completion.

    To complete the installation, you'll need to click on the link in the email from Dreamhost. The link will take you to a page on which you will need to complete the installation and setup your initial admin user - this will be the account with administrator access. 

    The video below walks you through this process.

    Need Help? WordPress Setup Done For You Service

    Prefer getting someone else to take care of the technicalities? We offer a WordPress setup service for $197. If you use our Managed WordPress Hosting, then we'll install WordPress for FREE.

    8 Tips For Growing Your Online Business

    1. Start Today

    While you’re reading this blog post (or watching YouTube videos) there are customers searching for the web for your specific product or service. If you have an idea that you’d like to launch or an existing business that you’d like to grow by marketing online, start today!

    “The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now.” ― Chinese Proverb​

    2. Avoid Distractions

    The current pace of change that we are experiencing with the web and technology has never been seen before. There are unbelievable opportunities to make a difference and have an impact in the work you do.

    Moving forward this pace of change will keep accelerating. The web has become an incredibly noisy environment. New tools, apps and services are launched every day and there seems to be an endless amount of “experts” wanting to offer you magic bullet solutions to your problem.

    Beware of the constant noise and the endless options. You most likely don’t need that new shiny web app or the 30-hour video course that will “Teach you everything you need to know to make 6 figures online”.

    Cut out distractions, don’t waste your money on things you don’t need and stay laser focused on what you are creating.

    “You will never reach your destination if you stop and throw stones at every dog that barks.” ― Winston S. Churchill

    3. Define Your Desired Outcome

    To reach your desired goals, it’s important to have a clear definition of what you are trying to achieve. What is your desired outcome? What does it look like? Why are you passionate about this idea or business? Take as much time as you need to clearly define your mission and your outcome. Avoid launching into the ‘doing phase’ if you are not sure what you are hoping to achieve.

    “If you don’t know where you’re going, any road will get you there.” ― Lewis Carroll

    4. Validate Your Value

    So you’ve got something great to offer the market. Create a minimal viable product/service and make sure to test your offer before investing more time and money into expanding what you’ve already created.

    The best way to test an offer is by getting direct feedback from existing or potential customers. And the ultimate validation of an offer is by generating sales. If your target audience is willing to pay for your solution, then it’s worth pursuing.

    If you realise that your offer is not resonating with your audience, then review, rethink and rebuild.

    “Try not to become a man of success. Rather become a man of value.” ― Albert Einstein

    5. Create A Strategic Overview & Action Plan

    After defining and clarifying your mission and desired outcome, expand those two items into a concise strategic overview and add an action plan.

    A strategic overview will help you define and outline the finer details of your greater vision. Think of it as an architectural plan for your online home. This document should include defining the problem you’ll be solving, the value you’ll be adding, the audience you’ll be targeting, the offers that you’ll be making and how this all fits together online. How will you be marketing and delivering your product or service? Create a visualisation of your online marketing funnel.

    Your action plan, on the other hand, will help you layout specific desired outcomes (projects) and what tasks (action items) need to be completed to reach those goals.

    “Give me six hours to chop down a tree and I will spend the first four sharpening the axe.” ― Abraham Lincoln

    6. Avoid Trying To Do It All Yourself

    A common trap to fall into is trying to do everything yourself. As an entrepreneur, there is a lot to think about and manage. There are many moving parts to creating, managing and growing a business. Creating an online presence and marketing your business online is only one of the many challenges to overcome.

    Consider hiring smart and reliable contractors and consultants to help you plan and create your desired outcome. Professional strategic support will help you scale yourself and your business. It’s ok to ask for help and work with strategic service providers. Trying to do everything yourself will result in overwhelm and burnout. Trust me, I’ve been there.

    “If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together.” — African Proverb.

    7. Invest In Systems & Support

    The ability to invest depends on your available budget, your cashflow, your desired outcome and your priorities. If you’re creating a hobby blog, then you would not want to invest much. However, if you’re building and expanding your business, then I’d assume it’s a high priority and well worth investing in.

    Making use of free and cheap solutions and services is great for when you’re bootstrapping and just getting started, but if you are serious about growing a sustainable business, then it’s crucial to invest in premium systems, services, and experienced support.

    Areas worth investing in includes your website hosting, your content management system, your website architecture, any online tools and services you use to run your business – for example invoicing, payments, capturing leads, email marketing, landing pages, webinars, social media, content marketing, and analytics.

    It can be extremely overwhelming to know what your business needs when. If needed, seek professional advice and guidance to make sure you don’t waste your money on things you don’t need.

    “All the tools, techniques and technology in the world are nothing without the head, heart and hands to use them wisely, kindly and mindfully.” ― Rasheed Ogunlaru

    8. Progress Over Perfection

    One of the most frustrating hurdles to overcome is dealing with perfectionism – wanting everything to be perfect before we share it with the world. The truth is that behind perfectionism lies something else that needs to be addressed and dealt with. This could be some sort of limiting belief, insecurity or imposter syndrome.

    Sometimes emotional work is needed to overcome these challenges. And once you’re ready to put yourself and your business out into the world, start with version 1.0 of your product or service. Create, refine and launch as soon as possible. Then get feedback from potential or existing customers and then work on version 1.1. Don’t try to make version 1.0 perfect, you’ll only end up wasting time and energy.

    If you feel ready, you’ve launched too late.

    “Perfectionism rarely begets perfection, or satisfaction - only disappointment.” ― Ryan Holiday

    Are you in need of strategic support and help with implementation?

    Learn more about our Strategic Support & Implementation packages, where together with my team I personally support you in building your business.

    What are you working on? What's your biggest challenge?

    Looking for some guidance to help you forge your own path. Leave a comment below and answer the questions: 1. What are you currently working on? and 2. What challenge is most holding you back?

    Introducing Our New Membership Site

    We’re excited to announce that we recently launched our brand new membership site over at https://my.posmaymedia.com

    Why We Created A Membership Site

    We created this new site for the following 5 reasons:

    1. To create an online, easy and simple to use library of concise and actionable resources.
    2. To create a simple and fun user experience for our members to access these resources.
    3. To build a community of purpose driven and inspiring entrepreneurs doing great work.
    4. To create the infrastructure to support a larger group of active members.
    5. To provide our active clients with a place to safely access and update account information.

    Why You Should Become A Member

    Full Access Membership Includes:

    1. All Resources Inside Our Membership Site
    We’re constantly revising, updating and adding to our library of valuable resources – guides, checklists, video tutorials, templates, and lessons. Full access members get all past and future resources. We add new resources based on member requests.

    2. Private Members-Only Chat Community
    Meet and interact with other members in our private members-only Slack group.
    It’s a great place to expand your professional network and get ongoing support, feedback and accountability.

    3. Priority Support From Our Team
    Whatever you’re currently working on, we’re here to support you.
    Members can ask anything and we’ll do our best to help you find the best solution.

    4. Mastermind Calls & Live Support
    Twice a month we host mastermind calls that will feature member hot seats.
    A hot seat is a chance for a member to join on a live call for 15 – 20min to get live support with whatever they’re working on.

    5. Q&A Sessions
    Twice a month we record and publish a Q&A session video to answer member questions.
    Members can submit questions in advance to make sure we answer them. All recorded sessions are
    archived on the membership site.

    6. Featured Experts
    This is still being worked on, but our plan is to interview and feature experts in specific fields once or twice per month. Members will be able to submit their questions in advance to have them answered as part of the interview. All interviews will then be archived on the membership site.

    How To Become A Member

    Visit https://my.posmaymedia.com to sign up and create your account.
    You can start out with a free account, which gives you 90 days of access to all our free resources, as well as support from our team.

     

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